Governors' Responsibilities


Who governs St Patrick’s?

St Patrick’s Catholic Primary and Nursery Voluntary Academy is governed by 12 Governors.

The Governing Body is made up of different types of Governor.

The aim of the Governing Body is to help the academy provide the best possible Catholic education for pupils.

The Governing Body does this by:

  • Working with the Head Teacher and staff to set strategic aims for the school, based on its mission and strategies
  • Monitoring and evaluating performance, acting as a critical friend to the Head Teacher and Senior Management Team to support and challenge them in running the school
  • Ensuring that the academy is accountable to the children and parents it serves, to its local community, to those who fund and maintain it, as well as to the staff it employs
  • Ensuring that the academy maintains its distinctive Catholic ethos and fully delivers its’ mission statement.

To address the growing need for Govenors to have an increasingly in depth knowledge and understanding of their school, a decision was taken by the Governing Body to adopt a 'Joint-Committee' approach to all areas of school life.

This enables all of our Governors to be fully informed about all areas of Governance, including Curriculum, Finance and Personnel, ensuring that they can each make fully informed judgements and management decisions.  Furthermore, it ensures that the Governing Body is not reliant on a few Governors for specific areas of expertise and is able to manage Governor vacancies more effectively.

Foundation Governors appointed by the Bishop of Nottingham


Mrs T Whitehall


Mr P Belshaw

Mrs S Piper

Mrs O Oguagwu

Type of Governor

Foundation Governor/Safeguarding Link Governor

Chair of Governors 

Foundation Governor

Vice Chair of Governors/SEND Link Governor 

Termination of Office

31st August 2021


31st August 2021

31st December 2018

31st August 2021

Parent-elected Governors


Mrs S Magana

Mrs A Kavanagh

Type of Governor

Elected parent governor

Elected parent governor

Termination of Office

31st August 2021

31st August 2021

Community Governor


Mr G Young

Type of Governor

Associate/E-Safety Link Governor




Clerk to the Governors

 Cathy Andrews